Abstract

Wildlife such as deer and other mammals can be detected using drone based aerial imagery and artificial intelligence.

For applications such as population detection, fawn rescue and wildlife damage prevention in disciplines such as ecology, hunting, forestry and agriculture this study was performed in cooperation with the Wildlife Foundation of the Canton of Aargau. We investigated to what extent different methods of automated aerial photography analysis are suitable for wildlife detection using UAV data. In spring 2018, 27 aerial surveys were conducted with fixed-wing UAVs and multicopters over seven game enclosures in North-Western Switzerland and the Southern Black Forest, Germany. Various infrared cameras were used, such as multi-spectral near-infrared sensors (NIR) and thermographic methods (thermal imaging sensors).

The analytical remote-sensing approach showed that in particular thermal images taken at an altitude below 100m AGL are suitable for automation by object recognition algorithms. For this purpose, a deep-learning model (transfer learning using COCO pretrained inception-class Faster R-CNN) was implemented as a modern method of artificial intelligence with Tensorflow and Python. In the training process, property characteristics were extracted from approx. 8000 manually marked animal signatures.

For some species of animals (fallow deer, red deer, bison, goat) extremely robust detection results could be achieved in the subsequent application (inferencing) even in semi-natural mixed forest environments. The efficient, task-specific implementation of the prototype allows real-time analysis of live video feeds under field conditions. With a detection rate of 92.8% per animal, or 88.6% with additional species classification, it was shown that the new technology has tremendous innovation potential for the future of wildlife monitoring.

L’essentiel

Cette étude a été réalisé en collaboration avec « Wildlife Foundation du canton d’Argovie », qui étudie diverses méthodes de photographie aérienne automatisée basées sur des données d’UAV adaptées à la détection d’animaux sauvages. Au printemps 2018, 27 relevés photographies aériennes ont été prises à l’aide de « drone à voilure fixe » et des multicopteurs dans sept enclos de Chasse du nord-ouest de la Suisse et du sud de la Forêt-Noire. Diverses caméras infrarouges ont été utilisées, comme les capteurs multispectraux (NIR) par proche infrarouge (IR) et les méthodes thermographiques (capteurs à imagerie thermique).

L’analyse des images aériennes par télédétection a montré que les données d’images thermiques d’une altitude inférieure à 100 m AGL sont particulièrement convenables pour l’automatisation par algorithmes de reconnaissance des objets. A cet effet, un modèle d’apprentissage approfondi (Le Réseau « Faster R-CNN » de classe d’initiation pré-entrainés avec le « dataset COCO ») a été mis en œuvre en tant que méthode moderne d’intelligence artificielle (IA) en utilisant le Framework « Tensorflow » et « Python ». Au cours du processus de formation, les caractéristiques des propriétés ont été extraites d’environ 8 000 signatures animales marquées manuellement.

Pour certaines espèces d’animaux (daims, chevreuils, bisons, chèvres), des résultats de détection extrêmement robustes pourraient être obtenus lors de l’application ultérieure (déduction) et même dans des environnements forestiers mixtes semi-naturels. La mise en œuvre efficace et spécifique du prototype permet l’analyse en temps réel des flux vidéo en direct dans des conditions réelles. Avec un taux de détection de 92,8% par animal, ou de 88,6% avec une classification d’espèces supplémentaire, il a été démontré que cette nouvelle technologie offre un potentiel d’innovation considérable pour l’avenir de la surveillance de la faune.